Tags

,

Happy Halloween all! I need to kick off this post with a song essential to Halloween:

I can’t really decide if Nightmare Before Christmas is a Halloween movie or a Christmas movie? Can movies bleed into multiple holidays? Is that even possible? All I know is I watched it last weekend and was immediately inspired to watch Christmas Vacation, A Christmas Story, Elf, all those holly jolly movies. I may be a bit premature with my festive spirit, but it’s never too early in my book. Michael Buble’s Christmas album has been blaring since September.

I must confess it’s hard for me to be away from home on Halloween. I despise dressing up. There is too much pressure to think of a clever custom while keeping within my budget.

"image"

This is my sister last Halloween. She was supposed to be a run-of-the-mill snowman, but it turned into this demented looking thing. She gets way more into dressing up than I ever will.

However, we turned it into a family affair. We invite friends and their children and their dogs and everyone we know to sit on our driveway next to a fire pit. At some point in the night it turns into a big ordeal to keep the fire going. We begin gathering leaves from neighbors down the street for kindle. You’d think we’d learn but no. Also, turns out children plus fire plus flowing customs isn’t the best combination.

This is where the food comes in. We, naturally when fire is involved, make s’mores. Sit and gorge on candy meant for small children, but we really buy for ourselves. And my mom’s white chili.

I can’t even begin to explain to you how delicious this white chili is. It’s like heaven sent a piece of its soul in soup form. I went back to school with some last year. I friend told me she would disown me if I didn’t let her have a bowl. My other vegetarian friend said this would be the one dish she may consider eating meat for (we are going to attempt a tofu version someday). Needless to say, I haven’t met a person who dislikes it yet.

Basically, on my deathbed this will be my last request meal. I’ve already demanded a batch when I go home in two weeks. Hell hath no fury like a woman determined to get her some white chili.

I hope y’all have a safe Halloween. Don’t do anything stupid! …lord now I sound like my mother.

"Halloween" "Image" Pumpkin

White Chicken Chili

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts, cubed
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 cans (15 ounces each) white kidney or cannellini beans, rinsed and drained, divided
  • 3 cups chicken broth, divided

Directions

  1. Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper. In a large skillet over medium heat, cook the chicken, onion, jalapeno, oregano and cumin in oil for 3-4 minutes or until chicken is browned and vegetables are crisp-tender. Add garlic; cook 1 minute longer.
  2. Transfer to a 3-qt. slow cooker. In a small bowl, mash 1 cup of beans; add 1/2 cup broth and stir until blended. Add to the slow cooker with the remaining beans and broth. Cover and cook on low for 3 to 3-1/2 hours or until heated through.
  3. Stir before serving. Sprinkle with cheese. Garnish with sour cream and cilantro if desired. 
