Tags

, , ,

"Image" "Campfire" "S'mores" "Bars"

One thing I miss about home: Our fire pit. Every Halloween, we’d invite a bunch of friends over, my mom would make a batch of white chili (which will be making an appearance sometime because my god if I were dying that would be my last meal), and sit on the front porch with a fire going passing out candy.  It turns out little children with flowing costumes and fire isn’t the best combination.

This was the one time I’d indulge in anything marshmallow related. The particulars aren’t clear, but for some reason I am not a huge fan of them unless they are in s’mores. I don’t like Peeps. I am not crazy about rice krispy treats (though don’t get me wrong, I’ll still devour those bad boys). It’s just s’mores.

Ironically enough, I made this dish in the heat of summer for my going away party. Let’s also just take a brief moment to discuss how I made all the desserts for my going away party. I’m moving 15 hours from home, riddled with packing, and sure let’s just make Megan spend all day in the kitchen baking for her party. I don’t mind.

"Image" "Marshmallow" "S'mores" "bars"

Contrary to the picture, I recommend using mini marshmallows. Not these jumbo bad boys. But hey, to each his own.

Luckily for me, it was simple enough to make. It’s just your basic graham cracker crust (graham crackers and butter…mmmmm nutritious), some melted chocolate in a saucepan, and sprinkling marshmallows. Easy enough, yeah?

I opted to modify this recipe a wee bit. Instead of semi-sweet, I got real scandalous, using dark chocolate. You really can’t go wrong with dark chocolate, man. It’s heavenly. Then, instead of sprinkling with marshmallows and graham cracker, I used just marshmallow. Again, with the theme of getting crazy, I then stuck it in the broiler to get the marshmallows nice and toasted. You can’t have a s’mores bar without toasted marshmallows. Puh-lease.

"Image" "Chocolate" "S'mores" "bars"

Hoooookay. So ideally this chocolate would be dark chocolate. And melted. But beggars can’t be choosers.

Finally, and I for the life of me can’t explain this, but almost all variations of  s’mores I’ve found so far suggest serving it cold. That’s right, cold. It makes no sense to me. What makes a s’more so decandant is the melted chocolate and marshmallow combination. Why taint such a beautiful thing? So, I suggest sticking it in the fridge to allow the chocolate to set up, as suggested. However, stick it in the microwave for a few seconds when you’re serving it. Dear lord, people. If you di it right, the chocolate and marshmallow begin to melt just so. It’s heavenly. Don’t question me. 

S’mores Bars

Adapted from: Annie’s Eats

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp. unsalted butter, plus more for greasing the pan
  • 1 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • ¾ cup sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 1/3 cups bittersweet chocolate chips
  • 1½ tsp. vanilla extract
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup mini marshmallows
2 whole graham crackers

Directions

  1. Line an 8 x 8-inch baking dish with aluminum foil.  Lightly butter the foil.  Place the butter in a heatproof bowl and microwave until melted.  Mix in the graham cracker crumbs and stir with a fork until the crumbs are evenly moistened.
  2. Pour the crumb mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan and press firmly into an even layer on the bottom of the pan.
  3. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, combine the condensed milk and chocolate chips.  Heat, stirring occasionally, until the chocolate is completely melted and the mixture is smooth.  Off the heat, stir in the vanilla and salt.
  4. Pour the chocolate mixture over the graham cracker base.  Working quickly, spread the chocolate into an even layer and smooth with a spatula.
  5. Sprinkle the marshmallows over the top of the chocolate.  Gently press down so that the marshmallows become partly embedded in the chocolate.
  6. Put the pan in the boiler for 1 to 2 minutes. Be sure to watch it closely as it can go from lightly toasted to burnt quickly.
  7. Cover and refrigerate the bars until firm, about 4 hours. If you wish, heat up a little before serving.
