Tags

, ,

"Image" "Pumpkin" "White chocolate" "cookies" "Pumpkin cookies"

This cookies were simple and easy to make. A definite perk. But they were melt in your mouth deletable. And they had pumpkin. I mean c’mon. 

As mentioned before, I made the nice eight-hour bus trip to Detroit to visit my high school friend, Christina. I was ecstatic to be in a home again, let alone be reunited with one of my oldest friends. Watching TV on a couch? Gasp. Walking 15 steps for food? Say it ain’t so.

Being the baking connoisseur I am (sarcasm because clearly I am not the next Giada), I complied a list of recipes I wanted to try before I left. The list may have been a tad ambitious: 15 cookie recipes and 10 brownie recipes. I never said I was a rational baking connoisseur. We had so many other plans (cider mills, seeing Perks of Being a Wallflower, and shopping. Did I mention I had a blast?), I eventually condensed it down.

"Image" "White chocolate" "pumpkin" "cookies"

If you’re opposed to waiting but not opposed to salmonella, the batter is acceptable by itself. No..I didn’t eat half the batter out of the bowl…that’s dangerous.

One of the recipes I refused to nix: Pumpkin white chocolate chip cookies. While most people claim to be chocolate lovers, I take it to a whole new level. White chocolate, dark chocolate, milk chocolate. It ends in “chocolate”, I am eating it. Clearly I don’t need to mention anything about my love for pumpkin. It’s been mentioned before. Let’s be real, it’ll probably be mentioned again.

Thus, on a rip-roaring Saturday night with Joshua James softly playing in the background, we decided to try these cookies. Let me go on a side tangent real fast. If you haven’t listened to Joshua James before, do it! Sons of Anarchy exposed me to his beautiful, borderline depressing voice, but I immediately began hoarding his music. The best background baking tunes.

Here! I’ll even give you a quick link. Shhhhh…just listen. Don’t speak:

Immediately, I was drawn to this recipe like a moth to a flame. No, no, no it wasn’t just because of the appealing sound of pumpkin and white chocolate melding together. It was because the recipe called for convenient ingredients. The only ones I am guessing people my not have in their pantries are the pumpkin puree and maybe the pumpkin spice. However, considering this is a pumpkin recipe we are discussing here, I like to think these are integral parts in the cookies. Splurge a little, people.

Now, to the making of the cookies. Again, I was drawn to the ease of the recipe. Have you made chocolate chip cookies before? And no I am not referring to the break and bake cookies. I am talking Phoebe’s legendary Nestle Tollhouse recipe Monica spent hours perfecting (Friends reference. Lookout!). Yes? Yes. Then you’ve essentially made this recipe. Nifty, huh? You just add an extra can of pumpkin puree to the wet ingredients and a dash of extra spice to the dry ingredients. Easy as pie…erhm….I mean cookies.

So. Tina and I divided and conquered. She took the dry ingredients (I loathe measuring flour) while I whisked the wet ingredients, which let me say, baking goes a lot faster with two hands. Boys take notice. There’s a good date idea in the making. Then, we plopped the dough on a cookie sheet. Here’s where I would say the recipe tricks you a little. They suggest rolling the dough into balls. Don’t do it. Even after we left some of the batter in the fridge overnight, it was still too sticky to roll in your hands without turning them into hot messes. Classify these cookies as “drop cookies”.

We then literally sat down in front of the oven and waited until the cookies were done. What pathetic foodies we must have looked to her parents. But then, alas, the buzzer went off. This is the worst part of baking. You hear the timer ting and think, “Aaaaah yes! Time to devour!”. But no. There’s this whole cooling part your mind skips over.

"Image" "white chocolate" "pumpkin" "cookies"

Yum yum yum yum. I took these the next day. Surprised there were any left to document! They were that good.

Now, the moment of truth. How did these cookies actually taste? In short: HEAVENLY. Naturally, the flavors of the pumpkin puree dominate. However, it’s the little hints of the spices lingering in the background that really enhance the cookie. Then, the white chocolate provides the perfect counterbalance. They melted just a hint on the outsides, but the centers still maintained their crunch. They offer a little extra sweetness that would not be achieved with regular chocolate chips.

The texture of these cookies is where it gets a little…weird? The pumpkin puree adds extra moisture to the batter. We cooked it the allotted time, then left them on the pan to cook a little longer after out of the oven. However, the centers were still ooey gooey (something I don’t mind at all. If dough were considered a dessert, I’d be all over it). If you’re someone that prefers a crispy cookie, this may not be the recipe for you.  It had more of the consistency of bread. I don’t necessarily mind this, but Tina’s dad took great offense to it, so bakers beware.

These cookies are basically a hybrid of pumpkin pie filling and pumpkin pie bread in a cookie form with a little white chocolate chips scattered throughout. They were rich in flavor without being “oh my heart one bite and I’m stuffed” overly rich. The easy recipe calls for little extra time or ingredients than your basic chocolate chip cookie recipe. They were a perfect fall treat for a perfect fall getaway. Overall, I would give this recipe an A. It hit my favorite marks: easy, quick, and tasty

Pumpkin White Chocolate Cookies

Adapted from: Tasty Kitchen

Ingredients 

  • 2-¼ cups All-purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • ½ cups Butter, Softened
  • 1 cup Granulated Sugar
  • ½ cups Brown Sugar
  • 1 cup Pumpkin Puree
  • 1 whole Egg
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1-½ cup White Chocolate Chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF. Whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice and salt in a medium bowl; set aside.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugars. Add the pumpkin, egg, and vanilla and combine thoroughly. Slowly add the dry ingredients. Stir in the chocolate chips. Roll dough on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.
  3. Bake for 10-12 minutes in the preheated oven. Cool for a couple minutes on the cookie sheet. The recipe makes 36 small cookies or 18 large cookies.
