Tags

, ,

"Image" "cracker" "ritz"

It kind of looks like this. Only imagine a sugar coating. That’s right: a sugar coating. Salty. Meet Sweet.

 

This easy recipe contains crackers, sugar, butter, and almonds. Easy enough, right? And don’t even get my started on how insanely delicious it is. It is a go-to recipe for any last minute party dishes.

I dub this recipe the most addictive recipe out there. My mom made a batch for a party once and mistakenly left the batch out on the counter for a solid hour. I accidentally ate nearly half of it.

 

I need to explain the situation, so you can full appreciate what a feat this was. I was upstairs. The crackers were downstairs. I was as snug as a bug in a rug watching Sons of Anarchy all day. Nothing, I repeat nothing, pulls my away from Sons of Anarchy. These crackers accomplished just that. I kept repeatedly retreating to the kitchen for just one more handful. Cue to my fifth trip down there, mumbling, “I can’t stop!” Such power for such a tiny cracker.

"Image"

This is mum and I before a Bon Jovi concert. Fun fact about Carol: She’s obsessed with Bon Jovi. This was concert number 30. We didn’t make an Ritz crackers beforehand.

It’s so delectable in fact, we’ve begun calling it “crack in a bowl”. I mentioned this recipe in my first post. It’s about the only dish my mother brings to parties anymore because it’s an easy recipe and a hit on top of that.

 

I don’t know what it is, man. The salty mixture meeting the sweet, caramelized sugar? The almonds providing a little extra crunch? Either way you slice it, the way the flavors come together, creating an inconceivable explosion of flavors.

 

An added bonus to this recipe: It’s one of the easiest recipes out there. It consists of melting, mixing, pouring, and stirring. Hence, why it’s my mother’s go to recipe. But, hey, it’s not like I’m complaining. I will devour those bad boys any time she makes them.

 

Ingredients

  • 2 bags baked, original Ritz chips
  • 16 oz sliced almonds
  • 2 sticks butter
  • 2/3 cup karo syrup
  • 2 cup sugar

 

Directions

  1. Grease 2 jelly roll pans. Spread the Ritz crackers out. Pour almonds over.
  2. Bring the butter, syrup and sugar to a boil on medium heat. Once at a boil, cook for one more minute.
  3. Pour the mixture over the crackers and almonds.
  4. Bake at 250 degrees for 45-60 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes.
  5. Cool and enjoy.
