Tags

, , ,

Is it normal to have September 22nd circled on your calendar simply because that is the start of fall? Probably not. Did I do said circling? Absolutely!

I may have mentioned before or a lot, but I simply love fall. I can’t rationally explain it anymore than someone can rationally explain why Uggs are still happening.

"Image" "Fall" "Autumn"

Sobs. Don’t tell me this majestical picture doesn’t get you in the mood for autumn. I won’t believe you.

In case you missed last weeks post, be sure to see what five fall recipes I am begging to try.

I blame the crisp air, the pumpkin, the football, the chili, really the list is never-ending. Please, indulge me. Tell me I am not the only one who has this sentiment…

What better way to kick off the autumn air than a trip to the Strip District! To all you non-native Pittsburghers, the Strip District on a weekend morning is hip-hopping with local vendors, bakers and producers. They bombard the entire street while us locals meander in and out, admiring all the yumminess. Seriously. If you are ever in town, it is a must see in Pittsburgh. It’s precious. You’ll find apples, macaroons, biscotti, and of course, Steelers gear. What more can a gal ask for?

"Image" "Football" "Steelers" "Pittsburgh"

In case y’all didn’t know what the Steelers logo looked like. Though, trust me, you spend five minutes in the city, and you will see it at least ten times.

A friend and I decided to head down for a little breakfast. Nearly famished, we find it, the breakfast to end all other breakfasts. A pumpkin pancake. It simply must be done. No hesitation.

Apparently, everyone agreed with us. The line inside the restaurant twisted all the way out the door. De Luca’s offered big promises, claiming to be “Home of the Best Breakfast in Town”. Did I mention we were staving? So rumbly, eating our hands seemed like a feasible, if not advantageous, option. This travesty did not deter us. We waited in line. And waited. And waited. Until a perky little waitress told us seats opened up at the bar. We hightailed it there. An absolutely riveting choice, we saw the cooks hustle and the waitresses scramble.

Even better, we got the first look at how they made the breakfast recipes. The pumpkin pancakes looked like an easy breakfast recipe. Naturally, it piqued my interest about how I could make this at home. More on that later, though…

Now the big decision revealed itself: Do we get two orders of pumpkin pancakes or just one? We decided to keep it modest, going with one order of pumpkin pancakes and another order of blueberry French toast to share between the two of us.

"Image" "Food" "Pancakes" "Breakfast"

Mmmmm…I love pancakes. They are my favorite breakfast recipe. The syrup. The butter. The deliciousness…sigh.

My, my, my, what a treat it was. I may or may not be salivating thinking about it. The pumpkin flavors bursted. The texture, smooth and cakey, melted in your mouth. We devoured, destroyed and dismantled that breakfast.

Bellies brimming over our jeans, we powerwalked it back to our rooms. I like to think we burned all the calories we consumed and then some. Keep dreaming, right?

Needless to say, there was no better way to start the fall season.

Now to the part that becomes relevant to you (though I hope my anecdote provided wasn’t entirely drab). I naturally began circling through all my favorite blogs, Pinterest and Google to see what the world had to offer for the splendid fall breakfast. After scouring the Internet, I found it. The fall recipe could beat the pumpkin pancakes at De Luca’s. This recipe includes a cinnamon streusel topping. What? It’s true. I haven’t tried this easy breakfast recipe out, so we shall see how it fares. However, I have high hopes it will live up to my standards.  Here it is:

Pumpkin Cinnamon Streusel Pancakes:

Adapted from: Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients:

For the cinnamon streusel:

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 6 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into chunks

To make the pancakes:

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tablespoons light brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Make the streusel first. In a medium bowl, mix together all of the ingredients with a fork until you have a crumbly streusel.
  2. In a large bowl, mix flours, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves.
  3. In medium bowl, combine milk, pumpkin, egg, oil and vanilla. Add this mixture to the dry ingredients.
  4. On medium heat, drop the batter on the skillet. Add the streusel topping. Cook on that side for 2-3 minutes. Flip the pancake. Add streusel topping to that side. Cook until golden brown.
