Tags

, , , , , , , ,

"Image" "Fal Recipes" "Fall" "Food"

Aaaaaaah. Fall is in the air. Can you smell it? Can you feel it? These are the fall recipes I found online and am dying to try. Hopefully, after break, I can report back to you on the results.

As I have stated before, I live in a college dorm. Living in a college dorm means no oven. No oven means a mental Megan.

You think I am joking. I stockpiled must make recipes for when I go home over Thanksgiving. I have subcategories nestled into subcategories nestled into subcategories. Maybe saving 13 breakfast recipes for a little over a week is excessive. I like to think of it as preemptive.

What’s even better? I will be home during the heart of fall – the kickoff to winter. My festive spirits will be sky high. What better way to get in the mood then with food? Nothing, I tell you. Nothing.

Without further ado, I present my list of top 5 recipes screaming fall and holidays and pumpkin that I absolutely, positively must try in the upcoming month. In simple man’s terms, my top 5 fall recipes.

5. Hot Cocoa Cookies

You immediately stopped in your tracks and thought “NO. This cannot be true.” didn’t you? Well, I am here to tell you: Yes, yes it is real life. Our trusty friend Rachael Ray over at Food Network thought of this borderline unimaginable cookie. It is your standard, run of the mill cookie with a twist: A layer of melted chocolate, then – as if the abundance of chocolate didn’t intrigue me already – a layer of gooey marshmallows.

"Hot Chocolate" "Cookies" "Fall Recipes"

Envision this steaming cup of hot chocolate – except in cookie form. You still alive?

This cookie recipe would be perfect on a blistery, dreary night. I opted to put then in at number five because it is a fairly easy recipe. Even better, it’s a fairly easy recipe with at home igredients.

So next time you are snuggled on the couch thinking, “Hmmmmm maybe some hot chocolate will suffice in this situation.” Don’t sell yourself short. Go for the cookies. Go big or go home, man. That’s my philosophy.

4. Chewy Candy Corn Nutter Butter Bars

Confession time! I love candy corn. I know they are 99.5% sugar, but that is irrelevant. I am a sucker for their melt in your mouth texture. I also think something embedded in my head equates “candy corn” with crisp weather, holidays, and family time. An ecstatic ringing bell goes off in my head whenever Target lugs out their stockpile. That is entirely too much significance for a tiny, triangle shaped candy.

"Image" "Candy Corn" "Fall Recipes"

You can almost feel the texture looking at that picture. It’s simply too much to handle.

As if that wasn’t enough to draw me in, the crafter took it one step further by getting a peanut butter cookie involved. He should consider re-naming it “Megan’s Idea of a Perfect Bar” bar because, lord help me, a description could not be more accurate. Needless to say, a bit of my soul died when I read this one.

As you will notice, a common theme appears in nearly all of these recipes: They are easy recipes. This one includes four ingredients. It’s also a splendid fall recipe because of the candy corn. C’mon! Who doesn’t ring in the fall weather with a little candy corn? Please tell me I’m not alone.

3. Baked Apple Cider Doughnuts

I will admit, as much as I talk about food, I try (emphasis on try, please) to eat healthy. The cravings for a fresh out the oven, drool worthy doughnut ran amok in my mind for the past couple of months. I’ve resisted (moment of applause for my willpower).  Once I finally give into temptation, it better be the doughnut. None of this dining hall, it’s been sitting out for three hours, business.

This is why when I finally bite into that ring shaped heaven, it better be an out of this world experience. It’s going to be an apple cider doughnut. This is an exceedingly pathetic amount of thought for the number three recipe on my list.

"Image" "Doughnut" "Donut" "Apple Cider" "Fall Recipe"

Oh my heart. What a treat it will be to bite into one of those. I am salivating.

This fall recipe still works for those causal bakers who don’t own a doughnut pan. Don’t worry, folks, this dilemma perplexes most. Another perk of this recipe? The ingredients should already be in your pantry. Nothing is worse than when you fall in love with the recipe, look at the ingredients, only to find an ominous, obscure ingredient. Let’s be real, it is unlikely you will make the trek to the store for flax seeds.  Needless to say, in case you haven’t gathered from this list yet, I am a lazy person.

2. Almond Joy Cookie Bars

Coming at number two on my list of fall recipes are these irresistible bars. My family always makes almond joy balls around the holiday time. I used to grimace. Coconut? Ew. Almonds? Puke. Like any mature adult, however, my taste buds changed. People think growing up means driving, prom, and graduating. No. It’s when you suddenly like the things you loathed as a child.

Also, this easily transportable recipe is a splendid fall recipe to bring along to a campfire or a treat after a football game. It sounds heavenly. Have I mentioned I love fall? Because I love fall.

"Image" "Almond Joy Bars" "Coconut" "Almond"

The idea of the chocolate, coconut, and almonds coming together in one bite. Let me tell you, it’s the epitome of holiday festivities for me.

Rambling aside, this recipe contains five ingredients. That’s right. Five. I don’t think I need to go on. The family almond joy ball recipe contains a notecard of ingredients. Front and back. I am intrigued to see how these bars fair against those. Because if the taste is comparable, you betcha I am going to start giving my friends these bars instead of the vexing recipe I am accustomed to.

1.  Pumpkin Spice Pull Apart Bread

We’ve finally reached our number on fall recipe. It may be the death of me. I’m a sucker for any variation of cinnamon bread – monkey bread, cinnamon swirl bread, or bread and butter with cinnamon sugar on top. I devour them all like it’s my job.

As you will come to find out, I sometimes cheat on my cinnamon love with pumpkin. I don’t know what it is about fall, but I suddenly want to pumpkin-ify everything. I put pumpkin pie syrup in my coffee. I put pumpkin pie spice in my oatmeal. I think I may be encroaching obsessed territory. This is a hunch, though.

"Image" "Pumpkin" "Bread" "Pumpkin Spice Pull Apart Bread"

Nothing like the loud, orange, rotund pumpkins to get you in the fall mood.

I gravitate towards easy recipes. Making your own bread from scratch, which this recipe calls for, doesn’t scream “easy peasy”. I know. I know. It is real scandalous to suggest this as my number one indulgence. However, it is pumpkin spice pull apart bread. It must be done.

