Tags

, , ,

I interrupt fall to bring you one of my favorite summer recipes. Contrary to popular belief, your puppies are not the target audience. Prepare yourself for melted chocolate, peanut butter, and sugar nirvana.
"Image" "Puppy Chow" "Recipe" "Chocolate"

Puppy chow is a staple for my summer festivities. My family owns a lake house three hours from my house. Anytime we go there, I know without a doubt someone is making this dessert. Does it even classify as a dessert? Whatever it is, it is an addictive, sugary squared shaped bit of heaven. Try having just one handful. I dare you.

A few months ago, the sister and I were watching an episode of Jon and Kate Plus 8 (Side note: I am pathetic and own this own DVD. I live in a blissful world where Jon and Kate are still coupled with an “and” and divorce is a non-factor.) Kate made a recipe called “monkey munch” with the three little girls. I watched in outrage. This is not monkey munch. This is puppy chow. Get it right, lady.

"Image" "Kate Gosselin"

I am certain the majority of you guys have had some variation of this recipe no matter what you call it. I’ll let the terminology slide this time, I suppose. However, I couldn’t resist putting on my blog. It was a staple in my childhood. And if you buy store made puppy chow, just stop right now. Go home. Make the real thing. Sob into the empty bag as you devour the entire serving. Trust me, you won’t regret this decision.

Ingredients

1 cup peanut butter

1 cup butter

1 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 box rice chex

1 bag powdered sugar

Directions:

1.     Melt the peanut butter, butter, and chocolate chips in the microwave. Stir until combined.

2.      Put the rice chex in a bag (I find that plastic bag absorbs less of the chocolate than a paper bag.) Then, pour the melted mixture into the bag. Shake the bag until the rice chex is evenly coated.

3.     Begin adding powdered sugar to the bag. Add enough until the rice chex is evenly coated. Some people prefer more or less powdered sugar. Add desired amount.

