Tags

, , ,

 

"bread pudding", "image", "breakfast"

Here’s a fun fact: My grandma grew up in Belfast. She endeavored the long trek to Kansas City in her 20s. How she did it without cell phones and computers is beyond me, but I digress.

Needless to say, I identify with those green clad leprechauns and all things Irish.  I’m not kidding. Luck of the Irish was my favorite Disney movie until the ripe old age of thirteen.

Irish soda bread became a bit of a staple in my house. The smell of homemade bread wafting through the house is the smell of childhood.

Then, I found this recipe.

Combining my favorite dessert with my favorite bread? I am down for the count.

Combining my favorite dessert with my favorite bread in an easy recipe? I am blogging from the grave.

The way the sauce with the cinnamon and the bread all come together to form a little piece of heaven on your taste buds… Just trust me when I say, you have to make this. It’s an experience.

"Bread Pudding" "Irish soda bread bread pudding" "breakfast" "dessert"

Make this. Make this and thank me later.
Shout out to A Bitchin’ Kitchen for letting me use her photo!

Recipe:

Adapted From: Gabby’s Gluten Free

Bread Pudding:

1 loaf Irish soda bread

2 Tbsp. melted butter

3 eggs, lightly beaten

3 cups milk

4 Tbsp. pure maple syrup

3 Tbsp. good Irish whiskey

1tsp. vanilla extract

½ tsp. ground cinnamon

Whiskey Sauce:

½ cup white sugar

1/3 cup water

2 Tbsp. irsh whiskey

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

½ cup milk, divided

Bread Pudding Recipe:

  1. Cut the bread into cubes and place in an 8-inch casserole. Melt the butter and pour over the bread. Make sure the bread is coated.
  2. Combine milk, eggs, syrup, whiskey, vanilla, and cinnamon in a bowl. Pour mixture over bread.
  3. Set the bread in the refrigerator for at least an hour but up to 24 hours.
  4. Bake for 40 minutes at 350 degrees until golden brown.

Whiskey Sauce Recipe:

  1. Heat sugar and water on the stovetop on low heat until sugar is dissolved.
  2. Increasing the heat, let the water and sugar boil for 5 minutes. Watch closely for a caramel color. It will turn tasty to burnt rapidly, so keep your eye on it.
  3. Remove pan from heat. Add whiskey, milk, and vanilla.
  4. Putting the pan back on medium heat, bring back to a boil until it sauce is smooth. Stir in the rest of the milk.
